رعاية الحيوان مهمة: لنا ولكم

يمكن الحكم على تقدم أمتنا من خلال كيفية تعاملنا مع حيواناتنا.

المثل الأعلى لرعاية الحيوان يأتي من الاعتقاد بأن الحيوانات يمكن أن تفكر، تشعر، تدرك وتستجيب لبيئتها بنشاط كما يفعل البشر. المؤسسات التي تؤمن برعاية الحيوانات تحاول دوماً ضمان صحتهم ورفاهيتهم عبر توفير نفس كمية الحب، الرعاية والإعتبار كما البشر وخاصة عندما تكون تحت الإشراف.

يكون الحيوان في حالة السعادة عندما تشير الأدلة الموضعية إلى أنه صحي، مغذى بصورة جيدة، مرتاح وقادر على اتباع الأنماط السلوكية دون المعاناة من مشاعر غير سارة كالألم، الخوف أو الإجهاد. تشمل رعاية الحيوان الظروف التي يحتفظ بها بالحيوانات، كيف يتم استخدامها للغذاء، كيفية استخدامها للأبحاث وكيف تؤثر الأنشطة البشرية في بيئتها.

الحريات الخمس لرعاية الحيوان

ترتكز رعاية الحيوان على مبدأ أن جميع الحيوانات تستحق الاحترام والتعاطف. تربية الحيوانات والمعاملة الإنسانية هي مصطلحات عامة تنطبق على الطريقة التي يجب أن يعامل بها الحيوان. ومن الضروري اتباعها خاصة بأن الحيوانات تعتمد علينا من أجل الحب، المأوى والحماية وهي غير قادرة عن اخبارنا برغباتها بلغة يمكن أن نفهمها.

في عام 1967، أُنشأ مجلس حيوانات المزرعة في حكومة المملكة المتحدة خمسة مبادئ توجيهية معترف بها عالمياً بالحريات الخمسة لرعاية الحيوان. والتي هي على النحو الآتي

  • الحرية من الجوع والعطش - من خلال توفير الغذاء الصحي المستمر والماء العذب.
  • الحرية من عدم الراحة - عبر توفير ملاجئ بمناطق مريحة للاسترخاء.
  • الحرية من الألم، الإصابات والأمراض - عبر توفير العناية الصحية المطلوبة مع التشخيص السريع والعلاج.
  • حرية اظهار السلوك الطبيعي - عبر توفير التسهيلات المناسبة والمساحات الواسعة مع رفقاء لهم من فصيلتهم.
  • الحرية من الخوف والتوتر- من خلال ضمان نوع من الظروف والعلاج الذي يمنع المعاناة النفسية.

الاهتمام بالحيوان هو مسؤوليتنا

الروابي ورعاية الحيوان: طريقة تفكيرنا

تشمل رعاية الحيوان كمسؤولية إنسانية جميع جوانب الرعاية المتعلقة بالحيوان بما في ذلك المنازل الجيدة، الإدارة، التغذية، الوقاية من الأمراض والاهتمام البيطري، التعامل بمسؤولية وعند الضرورة القتل الرحيم الإنساني لتخفيف المعاناة.

وبالنسبة لمزارعين الألبان على وجه التحديد فإن تجاهل أي أمر من هذه الأمور من رعاية الحيوان يمكن أن يؤدي إلى ارتفاع الأمراض، انخفاض الشهية ونقص عدد القطيع، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض جودة الحليب وأرباح المزارعين. لهذا السبب نحن في الروابي جعلنا من أولوياتنا توفير المعايير العالمية لرعاية الحيوان. نحن نؤمن أن هذا هو الأمر الصحيح ليس فقط لحيواناتنا بل أيضاً لأنفسننا، مزرعتنا، منتجاتنا، مستهلكيننا وصحة الأمة ككل.

رعاية الحيوان في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

في عام 2016، أظهرت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة التزامها برعاية الحيوان عندما أصدر الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان القانون الاتحادي رقم 18 لمكافحة حالات القسوة الحيوانية. وفقاً للقانون فإن الأشخاص الذين ثبتت إدانتهم بسوء معاملة الحيوان، الصيد الغير قانوني وشراء وبيع الحيوانات سوف يواجهون غرامة قدرها 200,000 درهم وسجن لمدة عام كامل. كما يخضع من يقوم استخدام الحيوان للتجارب العلمية غير القانونية لسجن لمدة عام واحد وغرامة تتراوح بين 50,000 درهم و 200,000 درهم.

منذ تأسيسها، لطالما كانت الروابي دائماً في طليعة رعاية الحيوانات الزراعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. رعاية الحيوانات هي واحد من أولوياتنا العليا، يعيش قطيعنا في حظائر خاصة مكيفة لتحميهم من حرارة الصيف القاسية. كما أنها تتمتع بأنظمة استحمام متقدمة، التبريد الآلي وتسليط الضوء على البنية التحتية لتساهم في الحد من أشعة الشمس المباشرة. كما نقدم لها أيضاً بيئة مريحة مجهزة بمياه شرب عذبة، فراش نظيف ونظام مجموع الحصص الذي يحدد نسبة التغذية المخصصة لكل بقرة لضمان الصحة والتغذية المثلى.

لا نقوم بتلقيح قطيعنا بالهرمونات ونقدم له رعاية طبية على مدار الساعة من فريقنا من الأطباء البيطريين والمساعدين البيطريين. نحن واعون بيئياً حول الاستدامة لذلك نعيد تدوير كل قطرة مياه مستخدمة في المزرعة ونظام التبريد لدينا يعتمد فقط على المياه المعاد تدويرها. ولاعادة تدوير المياه المستعملة، أنشأت الروابي أيضاً نظام لمعالجة الأوزون والترشيح الفائق - وهو عملية معالجة متطورة تقتل البكتيريا وتنقي المياه دون استخدام أي مواد كيميائية ضارة.

وبفضل مبادراتنا، حصلت الروابي على شهادة "التميز في رعاية الحيوان" من قبل بلدية دبي، وكذلك حصلت على شهادة أخرى من قبل حكومة الإمارات العربية المتحدة عن "أفضل الممارسات البيئية". وقد حازت الروابي على 3 جوائز من قبل جمعية أغرا الشرق الأوسط لأفضل ابتكارات الألبان، وحصلت على جائزة الأمومة والطفولة التي صوتت لها الأمهات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. نحن فخورون ويشرفنا أن نكون جزءاً من قائمة الشركات النامية الصديقة للحيوانات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

تركيزنا على الحفاظ على أبقارنا سعيدة وتحت الظروف المثالية يسمح لنا بتقديم الحليب ذو الجودة العالية للمستهلكين لدينا. لذلك عند شراء الحليب من الروابي، يمكنك أن تتأكد من أنه ليس فقط الطازج ولكن قمت بالاختيار الصحيح والأخلاقي.

ANIMAL WELFARE MATTERS: FOR US AND YOU

Our nation’s progress can be judged by how we treat our animals

The ideals of animal welfare come from the belief that animals can think, feel, perceive, and respond to their environment as actively as human beings do. Organizations that believe in the welfare of animals try to ensure their health and well-being by providing the same amount of love, care and consideration as human beings - especially when they are under supervision.

An animal is in a state of well-being when objective evidence indicates that it is healthy, well-nourished, comfortable, and able to follow natural behavioral patterns without suffering from unpleasant feelings like pain, fear or stress. The concerns of animal welfare include the conditions in which animals are kept, how they are used for food, how they are used for research, and how human activities affect the wild species in their habitat.

The Five Freedoms Of Animal Welfare

Animal welfare is founded on the principle that all animals deserve respect and compassion. While animal welfare refers to the state of the animal, animal care, animal husbandry and humane treatment are broad terms that apply to the way it is treated. It is especially valid in the case of animals that rely on us for love, shelter and protection, and are unable to communicate their wants in a language we can comprehend.

In 1967, the Farm Animal Council of the UK Government established five guidelines that are universally recognized as the Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare. They are as follows:

  • Freedom from hunger and thirst - through constant access to a healthy diet and fresh water
  • Freedom from discomfort - by providing a suitable shelter with a comfortable resting area
  • Freedom from pain, injury and disease - by providing the required medical attention with rapid diagnosis and treatment
  • Freedom to exhibit normal behaviour - by providing the right facilities with ample space and the company of their species
  • Freedom from fear and stress - by ensuring the type of conditions and treatment that prevents mental suffering

Caring for animals is our responsibility

Al Rawabi And Animal Welfare: Our Way Of Thinking

Animal welfare as a human responsibility includes all aspects of animal well-being including proper housing, management, nutrition, disease prevention and veterinary attention, responsible handling, and when necessary, humane euthanasia to relieve suffering.

For dairy farmers, in particular, ignoring these aspects of animal welfare can cause a rise in diseases and a drop in appetite and herd numbers, leading to a decline in the quality of the milk and the farmer's profits. That's why Al Rawabi makes it our priority to provide world-class standards of animal care. We believe it is right not just for our animals, but for ourselves, our farm, our products, our consumers and the health of the nation as a whole.

Animal Welfare In The UAE

In 2016, the United Arab Emirates demonstrated its commitment to animal welfare when President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan enacted Federal Law 18 to combat cases of animal cruelty. As per the law, people found guilty of abusing or illegally hunting, buying and selling animals face a fine of AED 200,000 and a one-year prison term. The use of an animal for illegal scientific experiments is also subject to a one-year prison term and fines between AED 50,000 and AED 200,000.

Since our inception, Al Rawabi has always been at the forefront of farm animal welfare in the UAE. Animal care is one of our top priorities, and all of our herds live in special air-conditioned units which protect them from the harsh summer heat. They also enjoy advanced showering and automatic cooling systems; state-of-the-art shed infrastructure that helps to reduce direct sunlight; a comfortable environment equipped with fresh drinking water and clean bedding; and a Total Mixed Ration system that creates a customized feed ratio for each cow to ensure optimum health and nutrition.

Our herds are hormone-free and have round-the-clock medical care from our team of veterinarians and veterinary assistants. We are environmentally conscious and recycle every drop of water used at the farm, and our cooling system relies solely on recycled water. To recycle waste water, Al Rawabi has also established an Ozone Treatment and Ultra-Filtration System - a cutting-edge treatment process that kills bacteria and purifies water without using any harmful chemicals.

Thanks to our initiatives, Al Rawabi Dairy has been certified by Dubai Municipality for 'Excellence in Animal Welfare' as well as the Government of the UAE for ‘Best Environmental Practices’. Al Rawabi has been awarded 3 times by Agra ME Association for Best Dairy Innovations and is the recipient of the Mother Baby & Child Award voted by Mothers in the UAE. We are proud and honoured to be a part of the growing list of animal-friendly companies in the UAE.

Our focus on keeping our cows happy and in optimal conditions allows us to deliver the highest quality milk to our consumers. So when you buy milk from Al Rawabi, you can be sure that it not only tastes fresh but that you have also made the right, ethical choice.